Sun Subscriber Website Login



Bartow Boys win district title
Please wait....
News Story
Updated: 06/22/2013 08:00:01AM

Bartow Boys win district title

Share this story:

Text Size:

The Bartow Dixie Boys’ 14-year-old All-Star Team won five straight games to claim the District 7 Title last week in Fort Meade.

Bartow beat Hardee County 9-3, Mulberry 16-0, Hardee, again, 4-3 and Mulberry a second time 7-3 before facing the top All Stars from East Lakeland.

Bartow had little trouble in the championship game and walked away with the victory.

They jumped to an early, commanding lead scoring 12 runs in the first inning behind a two-run home run by Chris Boswell and a grand slam by Tristan Jones. Nikki Gibbs hit a home run in the second inning and Ezra McKellip added his home run in the third inning.

Bartow won the game 14-6.

They will travel to Sebring
July 20-24 to compete in the state tournament. If they win that, they will go to Seneca, S.C., for the World Series in early August.

The 2013 Bartow All-Star Team
is comprised of Mickel Alcazar,
Chris Boswell, Nate Brionnes,
Nikki Gibbs, Tristan Jones, Ezra McKellip, Winston McLaughlin, Luke Meyers, Jordan Stewart, Justin Stewart, Aaron Thomas and Anfernee West.

They are coached by Jimmy Stewart and Tony Frean. Hawk Meyers is the manager.

Reader Comments (0)

Previous Page | Next Page

Submit your comment below:


* = Required information

Comments that include profanity, personal attacks, or antisocial behavior such as "spamming", "trolling", or any other inappropriate material will be removed from the site. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our terms of use. You are fully responsible for the content you post. All comments must comply with the Terms and Conditions of this site and by submitting comments you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.